Random ramblings of a Rose…

Jose and Mrs. Teacher


Well, here I am, taking forever to update again. Surprised? ūüėČ Didn’t think so. At any rate, I’m taking a little time tonight to reflect on the past month (plus.) Jose started Kindergarten on August 24 (see picture above of him with his teacher the day before school started), and he has changed so much just in this short amount of time. It’s as though this vast source of knowledge has been opened in his brain and it all comes tumbling forth in wondrous proportions. I am amazed daily by my child and the incredible amount of information he has seemed to suddenly assimilate in such a minute portion of his life. Here’s an example of what I mean:

  • Counts to 200 with little hesitation and few (if any) mistakes
  • Repeats/explains Biblical stories, such as Creation or the fall in the Garden of Eden, with precise detail and knowledgeable application of the principles presented therein
  • Creates patterns incorporating up to four different shapes and colors
  • Writes sentences and creates (not just draws, but uses scissors, paints, glue, whatever it takes) illustrations, such as: “the hELuctR And the pilit” = “The helicopter and the pilot.”
  • Solves fairly difficult mazes with apparent effortlessness
  • Comes home and copies concepts done at school, explaining why they were done that way, to show us what he’s been learning

    Jose was learning about x-rays in class

  • Memorizes one or two sentence Bible verses every week
  • Displays an awareness of a variety of sight words, including (but certainly not limited to): and, the, a, an, he, she, go, we, me, it
  • Rhymes words with ease, sometimes even coming up with complex rhymes
  • Identifies beginning and end sounds in many words

And again, these are just some of the multitude of things he blows me away with on a daily basis. ¬†I am honestly not trying to brag or somehow toot my own horn for my son’s accomplishments. ¬†I am just in utter shock at how much he has absorbed, how quickly it’s happened, and how well he’s retaining concepts that I distinctly remember not learning until 1st or 2nd grade. ¬†I don’t know how today’s early childhood teachers manage to cram in everything that state standards require them to pass on to the kids at such young ages, but it is apparent that Jose’s teacher is doing something right.

The best part? ¬†Jose loves school. ¬†LOVES IT. ¬†Even when he was having a small issue with one of the other students last month, he never once indicated in any way that he didn’t want to go. ¬†He loves learning, loves being with the other kids, loves sharing what he was taught that day. ¬†Sometimes he loves doing one thing or another a little too much, goes overboard, and ends up on yellow, but hey – I TOTALLY understand how that . . . ¬†squirrel!!! :mrgreen: And in just this month+ that he’s been there, so much has happened in class! ¬†He’s already been star student, meaning he got to bring home the class “pet”, Stella (a plush Mario star, lol), and had special activities every day centered around the class finding out more about him – from an “about me” poster, to having momma (me) come in and read to the class, it was a fun week all around.

He made a best friend before school even started – the day before to be exact. ¬†At “get acquainted day”, we met the other students in his class, and I knew before he even told me, which student would be his best friend – a pretty girl who has just turned 6 and is taller and slightly better at everything than the other kids. ¬†Want to know how I knew she’d be his best friend? ¬†The first thing she did was boss him around, and tell him what he needed to be doing on his treasure hunt. ¬†He has a serious pattern when it comes to his best friends – bossy girls who love to spend time with him, playing pretty much any game he dreams up. ¬†With their own rules added, of course. ūüėÄ

The class has had a Johnny Appleseed week, ending in a dress up like Johnny day (I don’t have a picture on this computer, but I’ll try to remember to come back and post one later.)

Here's the picture! And yeah, I know that's the wrong kind of pot, but his ginormous head was too massive for our single handled pots, lol. Besides, they made paper ones in school that they actually wore.


They’ve made it almost through the entire alphabet and will be having an alphabet party at the end of this week. ¬†They go to computers, library, P.E., art, music, and Spanish at least once a week. ¬†They try new foods in class, practice things on the SMART board, and learn little class “cheers” (which Jose LOVES to repeat, as long as he’s not being too shy.) ūüėõ ¬†They have chapel twice a month, and the Lord really speaks to Jose’s heart during those times. ¬†There is so much more that I know I’m forgetting, but I am just a little overwhelmed (in a really good way!) at all the changes being wrought in my little boy.

I was so worried that I was somehow sending him off into the great unknown, unprepared for what he would face, when it turns out I¬†was the one woefully unprepared for just how well he’d blossom and how incredible he’d turn out to be in his new environment. ūüė≥

Comments on: "One Month+ (Now with Johnny Appleseed Pic!)" (3)

  1. Of course he’s doing fine. Of course he’s learning quite rapidly. You know why?
    The Gawne is strong with this one…

  2. I think you meant the “Force” is strong with this one…

  3. Oh might sister Agnes, have you forgotten that Gawne = Force?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

